AAC Fellowships awarded

Wednesday, October 24, 2007

More than 300 people from all over Arkansas (including Glenna Booth, Jim Swiggert and Calvin Cotton from Eureka Springs) gathered at the John Q. Hammons Convention Center in Rogers on Oct. 22 to honor the Arkansas Arts Council 2007 Governor’s Art Awards and Individual Artist Fellowship recipients. Governor Mike Beebe spoke on the importance of the cultural community to the state and called NWA an area with “a quality of place” due to our vibrant arts community. Receiving Artist Fellowships are: (l to r) Tracy Prince, music program production; Sam King, painting; (AAC Chair Lori Cravens); Rob Alley, music composition; Denise Ryan of Eureka Springs, painting; Phil Lancaster, music composition; Angie Macri, poetry; Baxter Knowlton, painting; Sandy Longhorn, poetry; and Davis McCombs, poetry.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: