New teachers approved by school board

Wednesday, June 6, 2012

Eureka Springs High School principal Kathy Lavender introduced four prospective teachers at a special meeting of the school board June 5.

Lavender recommended Daniel Moose to teach history; Warren Ustler for EAST Lab and AVTV film; Katy Turnbaugh to teach physical science, physics, chemistry, and algebra I and David Partman for Alternative Learning Environment. A fifth teacher, Cynthia Brothers, recommended for Special Education, was unable to attend because she was attending her daughter's graduation in Georgia.

Chair Charles Templeton called for an executive session during which Lavender answered questions from the board. They then deliberated for 30 minutes after Lavender left the boardroom.

Following executive session, the four prospective teachers each gave a short talk about themselves and their vision.

Turnbaugh said she had been an engineer in private industry before attending a graduation in which none of the graduates was going into engineering. Since many family members were teachers she said she felt drawn to teach, and developed a passion for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics) programs. She wants to prepare students for careers in engineering and science.

Ustler also spoke highly of STEM programs, and has an interest in environmental sciences. He also has a background in commercial art.

Moose comes from a philosophy background but also has degrees in history and English. He said students can apply lessons from history to everyday life. He also wants to help coach the soccer team.

Partman enjoys working closely with students to make sure they stay in school and get an education. He also expressed interest in working with the track team.

Turner then recommended hiring the teachers along with a teacher for the middle school, David Scott, pending background checks and certification of credentials.

Board member Tom Freehling moved to accept Turner's recommendation and the vote was unanimous.

Next regular meeting will be Thursday, June 21, at 5:30 p.m. at the Administration Building.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: