Ross, Hoos headed to runoff in sheriff's race

Tuesday, May 22, 2018

Jim Ross and Alan Hoos will face each other in a June 19 runoff to determine the Republican nominee for Carroll County Sheriff.

In Tuesday’s preferential primary, Ross received 1,306 votes (45.1 percent) while Hoos received 1,002 votes (34.6 percent). Jack Gentry Jr., who was the Republican nominee in 2016, finished third with 591 votes (20.4 percent). Because no candidate received a majority of the votes, the top two will move on to the runoff. Mark Bailey was unopposed in the Democratic primary and will face the Ross-Hoos winner in the November general election.

Green Forest Mayor Charles Reece won the Republican nomination for county judge, defeating former Justice of the Peace Duane Coatney. Reece got 1,645 votes (57.5 percent) compared with 1,217 votes (42.5 percent) for Coatney. Incumbent County Judge Sam Barr was unopposed in the Democratic primary and will face Reece in November — a rematch from 2016.

In the Democratic primary, incumbent County Clerk Jamie Correia defeated challenger Deana Davidson. Correia, seeking a sixth term as clerk, received 405 votes (56.3 percent) while Davidson received 314 votes (43.7 percent).

In the Republican District 5 State Senate race, state Rep. Bob Ballinger of Berryville held a late lead on incumbent Bryan King of Green Forest. With 70 of 85 precincts reporting as of 11 p.m., Ballinger had a total of 3,918 votes (52.2 percent) compared with 3,591 votes (47.8 percent) for King. King carried Carroll County by a wide margin — getting 1,553 votes (60.2 percent) in the county, compared with 1,026 (39.8 percent) for Ballinger. But Ballinger got 73 percent of the vote in Washington County (606-221) and 61.1 percent in Crawford County (1,368-870) to take the lead.

In the Republican race for state representative from District 3, Donald Ragland of Marshall received 78 votes (46.4 percent) in Carroll County, compared with 58 votes (34.5 percent) for Keith Slape and 32 votes (19.1 percent) for Timmy Reid. That district also includes portions of other counties and district-wide totals were not yet available.

In the Republican race for constable of Polo Township, incumbent Jeffery B. Usrey received 88 votes (44.2 percent) while Nick Samac received 60 votes (30.2 percent) and Eric Griesenauer received 51 votes (25.6 percent).

In a Berryville school board race, challenger Jeff Tanksley defeated incumbent David Waller for the At Large Position 1 seat. Tanksley received 773 votes (53.1 percent), compared with 683 votes (46.9 percent) for Waller.

Incumbent Bud Phillips was re-elected to the At Large Position 2 seat on the Green Forest school board. Phillips received 387 votes (54.4 percent), compared with 325 votes (45.7 percent) for challenger Heath Norris.

Incumbent Jason Morris was re-elected to the At Large Position 4 seat on the Eureka Springs school board. Morris received 874 votes (67.3 percent) compared with 424 votes (32.7 percent) for challenger Jack Moyer.

Final results on races involving other counties will be posted as soon as they are available.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: