Ross gets GOP nod for sheriff

Wednesday, June 20, 2018

Jim Ross will be the Republican nominee for Carroll County sheriff in the November general election.

In Tuesday’s runoff election, Ross defeated Alan Hoos by 23 votes to win the Republican nomination.

Unofficial final results released Tuesday night show Ross, a school resource officer for the Berryville Police Department and a former Berryville postmaster, with 542 votes (51.1 percent). Hoos, former chief deputy for the Carroll County Sheriff’s Office, received 519 votes (48.9 percent).

Ross will face Democratic Party nominee Mark Bailey, a CCSO sergeant and chief of the Alpena Police Department, in the general election on Nov. 6. The winner will serve a four-year term after a change in state law.

Bailey was unopposed in the May 22 preferential primary. Two-term incumbent Sheriff Randy Mayfield, a Democrat, did not seek re-election.

Ross and Hoos had advanced to the runoff by finishing first and second, respectively, among three Republican candidates in the May 22 primary.

In other results, incumbent Jeffery B. Usrey defeated challenger Nick Samac in the Republican runoff for constable of Polo township. Usrey received 38 votes (54.3 percent), compared with 32 votes (45.7 percent) for Samac.

The only other race on the runoff ballot in Carroll County was for the Republican nomination for the District 83 seat in the Arkansas House of Representatives. Donald Ragland of Marshall carried Carroll County by a single vote over Newton County Sheriff Keith Slape. Ragland got 42 votes and Slape received 41 in Carroll County. Slape won the runoff, however, with a district-wide total of 1,382 votes (50.8 percent) while Ragland received 1,338 votes (49.2 percent).

Tuesday’s results do not include three provisional ballots. The Carroll County Election Commission will meet Monday, June 25, to review those ballots.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: