All 11 JPs seek new terms on quorum court

Wednesday, November 13, 2019

All 11 members of the Carroll County Quorum Court filed as candidates for re-election during the filing period that closed at noon Tuesday.

District 8 Justice of the Peace Don McNeely, a Republican, and District 11 JP John Howerton, a Democrat, filed their paperwork Tuesday morning.

District 10 JP Larry Swofford, an Independent, filed for re-election last Thursday, Nov. 8, leaving McNeely and Howerton as the only incumbents who hadnít filed by then.

District 3 JP Harrie Farrow, a Democrat whose district includes Eureka Springs, is being challenged by Republican Ferguson Stewart. Farrow defeated Stewart in the November 2018 general election to win the seat.

Also filing late last week were two incumbent constables ó Russell Colbert Sr. in the Carrollton township and Rocky Whiteley in Winona township. They both filed as Independents, as did Trace Glisson, who is running for constable of the Prairie township. Randy Langhover filed as a Republican for constable of Polo township, challenging incumbent Jefferey Usrey, also a Republican.

Eureka Springs school board members Chris McCling, Al Larson and Travis Holloway have filed for re-election with no opposition.

Respond to this story

Posting a comment requires free registration: